
STATE OF LOUISIANA 
OFFICE OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS 

BATON ROUGE, LOUISIANA 
 

APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE  
UNDER THE LOUISIANA CHECK-CASHING LAW 

 
The “Louisiana Check-Cashing Law” provides for the licensing and regulation of businesses engaged in currency exchange as 
defined in the Law.  “Check-casher” means an individual, partnership, unincorporated association, or corporation that for 
compensation engages in whole or in part in the business of cashing checks, drafts, money orders, or any other commercial paper 
serving the same purpose.  "Check-casher" does not mean: 
 
(1) An entity that charges no fee to the presenter or payor for the cashing of a check, draft, money order,  
 or traveler's check, or 
(2) An entity that cashes a check, draft, money order, traveler’s check, or other commercial paper if the fee charged does not 

exceed $2.00 and the currency exchange is incidental to the entity’s primary business. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 A check or money order payable to the Office of Financial Institutions (cash cannot be substituted) in the amount of $350 
for the Check-Cashing nonrefundable application fee, plus $50 for each additional location up to a maximum of $3,000. 
R.S. 6:1004.1(A).   

 
 A completed, signed, and notarized Uniform Application.  All blanks must be filled in (If N/A, so state). 

 
 Two (2) Original Fingerprint Cards (including fingerprints, printed name, signature, social security number, and date 

 of birth) and $38.00 background processing fee. (Note: See Fingerprint Card Information form for instructions) 
 

 Louisiana Police Bureau Criminal Identification and Information Form must be completed and submitted to this Office for 
each owner, executive officers and/or director.  Louisiana State Police will return incomplete forms to this Office, which 
may delay the processing of the background request.  (See Fingerprint Card instructions.) 

 
 A current Financial Statement including balance sheet and statement of income and expenses signed by an officer of 

 the company.  If the applicant is unable to provide a financial statement, please complete [Attachment A]. 
 

 A completed, signed, Official Gaming Establishment Statement [Attachment E] for each check cashing location. 
 

 Attach a list of additional locations where the applicant intends to operate as a check-cashing business. Include 
 complete physical/municipal address, phone number and name of manager. [Attachment F] 
 

 A copy of the confirmation letter issued by the Internal Revenue Service Detroit Computing Center showing proof of 
registration as a Money Services Business or a copy of the letter stating registration is not required. The registration  form, 
FinCen Form 107 and instructions, can be found at website   www.fincen.gov. 

 
 Please complete the Certificate of Resolution form to designate additional authorized individuals (ex. attorney, bookkeeper, 

or other authorized individual) to act on behalf of the applicant in connection with the Check Casher application.   
 
The Commissioner may as he deems necessary conduct examinations to determine that rules, regulations, and statutes are being 
followed. 
 
For questions regarding this application please contact the Non-Depository Division Licensing Department:  225-925-4660 or 
ofilicensing@ofi.la.gov. 

Applications may be mailed or hand delivered to: 
 
Office of Financial Institutions     Office of Financial Institutions 
8660 United Plaza Boulevard – 2nd Floor    P. O. Box 94095 

 Baton Rouge, LA 70809      Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9095 

THE FOLLOWING ITEMS MUST BE INCLUDED WITH THE APPLICATION. 
INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL RESULT IN INCREASED PROCESSING TIME AND 

POSSIBLE DENIAL OF THE APPLICATION 

http://www.fincen.gov/
mailto:ofilicensing@ofi.la.gov


INSTRUCTIONS - UNIFORM APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE/REGISTRATION 
This application will not be considered complete until this Office receives all fees and required information.  
Failure to provide all documentation will result in increased processing time and possible denial of the 
application.  Please write something in each blank space. 

 
No. 1 Full legal name of entity.  The only instance in which the “applicant" may be a natural person is if the applicant is a sole 

proprietorship.  Otherwise, the "applicant" is a separate legal entity that will be conducting business. The name inserted on this 
line must be identical to the name filed with the Secretary of State from the state in which you are applying. 

 
No. 2 If applicant operates under a trade or assumed name, the name inserted on this line must be identical to the name that appears on 

the certificate of registration filed with the proper state authority in which the applicant is applying (Inc.’s and LLC’s register 
trade name with Secretary of State, Sole Proprietor’s register assumed name with Clerk of Court) (In the city of New Orleans file 
with the Registrar of Conveyance).   

 
No. 3 Street address of the location that will appear on the face of the license.  This should be a location that will cash checks. 

 
No. 4 The mailing address of the applicant if different from No. 3.  If the mailing address of the applicant is the same as No. 3, answer 

N/A. 
 

No. 5 Main office phone number, fax number, web site and/or e-mail address. 
 

No. 6 Check the type of organization. Attach copies of Certificate of Authority, Articles of Incorporation or Organization, Partnership 
Agreement and Bylaws, whichever is applicable. 

 
No. 7 Insert the state in which the applicant was originally registered and date that the applicant was incorporated, organized or formed.  

 
No. 8 Out-of-state applicants must submit documentation evidencing that your company/entity is authorized to do business in the state in 

which you are applying.  (Registration Certificate from the proper authority such as the Secretary of State) 
 

No. 9 Self-explanatory 
 
No. 10 Self-explanatory 

 
No. 11 Complete name, address, and phone number of the Registered Agent for Service of Process. (Sole Proprietors answer N/A)  

Registered Agent must be a person located in the state in which you are applying and must match what was filed with the 
Louisiana Secretary of State. 

 
No. 12 Self-explanatory 
 
No. 13 Self-explanatory 
 
No. 14 Self-explanatory 
 
No. 15 List any other states in which the applicant/registrant is conducting or has conducted a similar type of business. 
 
No. 16 List the name, title, complete address, and percentage of ownership of each director, manager, member, partner, sole proprietor, all 

10% or greater equity owners and officers (CEO, CFO, COO, President, EVP, Secretary, Treasurer, or individuals of similar status 
or function).  Additional sheets may be copied and attached if necessary. For purposes of this application “equity owners” includes 
stockholders, members, or general member if LLC, partners, or limited partners that own equity in the business seeking licensure.  
If applicant is a subsidiary, list requested information for parent company and all individual having 10% or greater of the parent. 

 
No. 17 Self-explanatory 
 
No. 18 Information concerning the parent company if the applicant is a subsidiary and an organizational chart. 
 
No. 19 Self-explanatory 
 
No. 20 Self-explanatory 

 

 



REVISED 
10/1/16 UNIFORM APPLICATION 

FOR LICENSURE/REGISTRATION 
TYPE OF LICENSE APPLIED 
FOR: Check Casher 

1. Full legal name of applicant (attach secretary of state certificate from the state in which you are applying): 
 
 

2. Trade name, d/b/a, or assumed name of applicant, if applicable: 
(attach registration documentation/certificate) 
 

Fed. Tax I.D.#: 

3. Principal office street address: 
 
City: 
 

State:         Zip Code:                   Parish:    

4. Mailing address (street or post office box): 
 
City: 
 

State: Zip Code: 
 

5. Business phone number: 
 
E-mail address: 

Business fax number: 
 
Web site:  www. 

6. Type Of Organization: 
 Corporation 

 
 Limited Liability 

   Company (LLC) 

 
 Sole Proprietorship 

 
 General Partnership 

 
 Limited Liability 

     Partnership 
 Other (Explain) 

7. State/Commonwealth of Incorporation: Date of Incorporation/Organization: 
 
 

8. If a foreign corporation or other type of legal entity, state the date that the entity filed with the proper state authority in which 
the applicant is applying. (e.g. secretary of state), if so required: 
 
 

9. Physical address of location at which the official books and records of the applicant are kept: 
 
 
City: State: Zip Code: Phone No: 

10. Does applicant engage in any activity through electronic or automated mediums, such as the internet? 
(  ) If yes, attach description of activity and web site address 
(  ) No 

11. Registered agent for service of legal process: 
(must be located in state/commonwealth in which you are applying) 
This should be the same as filed with the Louisiana Secretary of State. 
Name: 
 
Address: 
 
City: 
 

State: 
 

Zip: Phone Number: 

12. Person authorized to answer questions pertaining to this application: 
 
Name: 
 
Address: 
 
City: 
 

State: Zip Code: Phone No: 
 

E-Mail Address: 
 

Fax No: 

 



13. Person authorized to answer regulatory compliance issues: 
Name: 
 
 
Address: 
 
 
City: 
 
 

State: Zip Code: Phone No: 
 

E-Mail Address: 
 

Fax No: 

14. Person authorized to answer consumer complaints: 
Name: 
 
 
Address: 
 
 
City: 
 

State: Zip Code: Phone No: 
 

E-Mail Address: Fax No: 

15. List all states in which applicant is conducting or has conducted business related to this application: 
(attach list if necessary) 
State or states in which 
business is/was 
conducted 

Type of business conducted 
 

Names under 
which applicant is 
or has operated 

Original 
license date 

Active or 
Inactive 

     

     

     

     

16. List all principal officers and title held, directors, partners, and members.  (attach addendum if necessary) 
 

Name & Title 
 

Principal Office Address % Ownership 

Name & Title 
 

Principal Office Address % Ownership 

Name & Title 
 

Principal Office Address % Ownership 

Name & Title 
 

Principal Office Address % Ownership 

Name & Title 
 

Principal Office Address % Ownership 

List all persons that have a 10% or greater equity interest not listed above. 
Name  Principal Office Address % 0wnership 

Name Principal Office Address % Ownership 

Name  Principal Office Address % Ownership 

 



17. Read the following questions carefully. If the answer is yes to any of the questions, attach a full written explanation. 
Include names, dates, court name and address, case number, judgment amounts. 
 

 A. Are there any civil or criminal proceedings pending against the applicant or 
civil or criminal convictions, plea of nolo contendere or plea to lesser 
charge entered against the applicant that involve theft, fraud, dishonest 
dealings or moral turpitude? 
 

 
(  ) Yes, attach explanation 
 
(  ) No 

 B. Is/has the applicant ever been the subject of a bankruptcy, assignment for 
the benefit of creditors, receivership, conservatorship, or any similar 
proceeding? 

 
(  ) Yes, attach explanation 
 
(  ) No 

 C. Has any other state or federal government agency denied the applicant a 
license? 

 
(  ) Yes, attach explanation 
 
(  ) No 

 D. Is/has the applicant been the subject of any administrative action or 
enforcement proceeding by any state or federal government agency 
involving fines, penalties, or the revocation or suspension of any business 
license or permit?  
 

 
(  ) Yes, attach explanation 
 
(  ) No 

18. Is applicant a subsidiary?  
 

  Yes   No 

Parent company name: 
 

Mailing address: 
 
City: State: Zip Code: 

If applicant’s parent company is a corporation, state where and when incorporated. 
 
 
State Incorporated: Date Incorporated: 

 
 

19.  Did you purchase this business from an existing licensee of the Office of 
Financial Institutions? 

(  ) Yes, attach explanation 
(  ) No 
 

20. Did you purchase assets or a loan portfolio from an existing licensee of the 
Office of Financial Institutions? 

(  ) Yes 
(  ) No 
 

IN ADDITION TO ALL OF THE ABOVE, APPLICANT MUST SUBMIT THE FOLLOWING ATTACHMENTS: 
 A. 
 

Biographical / Authority Sheet completed and notarized for each person listed in Question#16.(See Attachment B) 

 B. 
 

A current 10-year employment/experience form for everyone listed in Question #16 and sole proprietors. (See Attachment 
C) 

 C. 
 

Residence addresses for the last 10 years for all individuals listed in #16.(See Attachment D) 

 D. 
 

Provide copies of the following, whichever are applicable: 
1. If applicant is a corporation, provide a copy of Articles of Incorporation, including amendments. 
2. If applicant is a Limited Liability Company (LLC) provide a copy of the Articles of Organization and operating 

agreement.  If no operating agreement exists, provide a notice stating this signed by the members. 
3. If applicant is a general partnership or a Limited Liability Partnership (LLP), provide a copy of the Partnership 

Agreement.  

 
 
 
 



APPLICATION AFFIDAVIT 
 
 
 
Signed this    day of     20  . 
 
 
             
      Name of Company 
 
     By:        
      Signature of Authorized Person  
 
             
      Print Name and Title 
 
 

************************************************************************* 
 
STATE OR COMMONWEALTH OF        
COUNTY /PARISH OF          
 
      personally came and appeared before me, the undersigned  

(authorized person above) 
notary, and declared under oath that she/he is the         of  
         (Title) 
      , that she/he is authorized to sign and submit the attached  
 (Name of Company) 
application and that all statements and representations made therein are true and correct to the best of  
 
his/her knowledge, information and belief. 
 
               
       Signature of the authorized person 
 
 
 
Sworn to and subscribed before me on this the    day of     20  . 
 
 
 
               
       Notary Public 
 
               
       Print Name of Notary Public  
(Seal) 
       My Commission Expires:      
 
 

 



 
LOUISIANA OFFICE OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS 

8660 United Plaza Boulevard, 2nd Floor 
Baton Rouge, LA  70809 

(225) 925-4660 
 

FINGERPRINT CARD INFORMATION 
 

Act 236 of the 2006 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature amended LSA-R.S. 6:121.2 effective June 
2, 2006.  This section authorizes the Commissioner of Financial Institutions to request and obtain state and 
national criminal history record information on any person applying for any license with the Office of 
Financial Institutions, as well as require any applicant for any license to submit two full sets of fingerprints 
in a form or manner prescribed by the Commissioner as a condition of the Commissioner’s consideration of 
their application. 

 
 
WHO MUST SUBMIT FINGERPRINT CARDS: 

 
 1) Owner(s): Sole Proprietors; partners and general partners if partnership;    
   trustees; members and general members if an LLC; and 10% or greater equity owners. 
 
 2) Director(s): All directors. 
 
 3) Officer(s): Chief Executive Officer, Chief Operating Officer, Chief Financial 
   Officer, President, Executive Vice President(s), Corporate     
   Secretary, Treasurer, or individuals of similar status or function. 

 
 4) Manager(s) 
 

WHAT MUST BE SUBMITTED: 
 
 1) Two original Form FD 258 fingerprint cards or equivalent which can be obtained from your local law 

enforcement office.  In addition to your fingerprints, the cards must have your Social Security Number, date of 
birth, printed name, and signature.  If submitting cards done electronically (digital cards) the fingerprints on 
each card should be taken separately instead of taken once and printed out twice.  A duplicated card that gets 
rejected may result in an additional $38.00 processing fee and may delay the processing of your application. 

 
 2) $38.00 nonrefundable criminal background processing fee made payable to the Office of Financial Institutions. 

(This fee is in addition to the application fee.) 
 
 3) Completed Authority to Obtain Information from Outside Sources form, signed and dated and notarized 

(included in application packet).  
 
 4) Completed and signed Louisiana State Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information Form (included in 

application packet). 
 
 
   
 
 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE 
Applicants submitting fingerprint cards that are smudged or unreadable will be required to 

resubmit new cards.  This will add to the processing time of the application. 
 

 



Attachment [A] FINANCIAL REPORT 
 SECTION I 
I, ________________________________________________, __________________________________________________________  
                   Name                                                                               Business Address 
submit herewith the following information and a correct and complete statement of my financial condition as of ____________________________  
to the Office of Financial Institutions, for its confidential use, in connection with 
 __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 (Reason for submitting report) 

An answer to each item is required.  If the answer is "No," "None," or "Not applicable", so state.  If an item of 
information called for is unknown, so state.  If space provided on this form is inadequate, attach a separate 
schedule.  All such schedules should be signed and dated. 

 
                           ASSETS 

 
 

 
                      LIABILITIES 

 
 

1)  Cash on hand and in financial institutions  
$ 

9)  Accounts payable  
 

2)  Notes, loans and other accounts receivable considered 
good and collectible 

 
 

10) Notes payable to others--from Schedule D  
 

3)  Merchandise and inventory at lower of cost or market 
value 

 
 

11) Notes payable to others--from Schedule E  
 

4)  Real estate--from Schedule A  
 

12) Real estate mortgages--from Schedule F  
 

5)  Machinery and equipment--at cost less depreciation  
 

13) Interest and taxes due and unpaid--from 
Schedule G 

 
 

6)  Marketable securities--from Schedule B  
 

14) Other debts and liabilities--from Schedule H  
 

7)  Life insurance (face amount $____________) cash 
surrender value 

 
 

 
                         TOTAL LIABILITIES 

 
 

8)  Other assets--from Schedule C  
 

15) NET WORTH  
 

                                        TOTAL ASSETS $ TOTAL LIABILITIES AND NET WORTH $ 

Note:  Notes, accounts receivable, mortgages and other assets considered doubtful, and not included in above financial statement have an estimated value of $______________________. 
 
 CONTINGENT LIABILITIES (If none, so state) 
 
In addition to the debts and liabilities listed above, have you endorsed, guaranteed, or become otherwise indirectly or contingently liable for the debts of others?    Yes    No   If 
"yes", give details in the following schedule. 

 
 Name and address of Debtor or 
 Obligor 

 
 Name and address of 
 Creditor or Obligor 

 
 Description of 
 Collateral 

 
 Value of 
 Collateral 

 
      Date Obligation    
 Incurred  Due 

 
 Current 
 Amount 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
$ 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
   TOTAL 

 
$ 

 

                  STATEMENT OF INCOME                       20__                       20__              20__                       Current Year         
            (if over 6 months) 

Salaries, wages, and commissions from employment  
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

Income from dividends and interest  
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

Net income from rents, royalties and investments  
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

Other Income  
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

                                                         TOTAL INCOME  
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

Expenses  
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

                                                          NET INCOME  
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
                                                                           __________     
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT REQUIRED       DATE 

 



Attachment [A] (continued)                                                                          
SUPPORTING SCHEDULES 

Schedules set forth on this page must agree in total with the appropriate item contained in the Financial Statement on Page 1 of this report.  Note:  Please attach a 
current balance sheet and statement of income relative to any investment, the value of which is not readily ascertainable (such as closely held corporations, 
partnership interests, etc.) when the investment exceeds 10% of total assets. 

 Schedule A -- Real Estate Owned 
 Description and Location            Title in Whose Name                         Date Acquired                 Cost                   Insurance          Current  Value 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
$ 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
                                                                                              carried forward to item 4, page 1         TOTAL 

 
$ 

 Schedule B -- Marketable Securities 
    Description    Amount   Description                                         Amount               

 
 

 
$ 

 
 

 
$ 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
                                                                                                  carried forward to item 6, page 1             TOTAL 

 
$ 

Schedule C -- Other Assets    Schedule D -- Notes Payable to Financial Institution 
Description and Basis for Valuation             Value            Name of Creditor Security             Date Due                      Amount 

 
 

 
$ 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
$ 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

   
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
  carried forward to item 8, page 1      TOTAL 

 
$ 

  
carried forward to item 10, page 1      TOTAL 

 

$ 

Schedule E -- Notes Payable to Others    Schedule F -- Real Estate Mortgages Payable   
 Name of Creditor       Security          Date Due             Amount         Name of Creditor       Location of Property      Date due    Amount 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
$ 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
$ 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
carried forward to item 11, page 1         TOTAL 

 
$ 

 
 

 
carried forward to item 12, page 1                TOTAL 

 
$ 

Schedule G -- Interest and Taxes Due and Unpaid    Schedule H --- Other Debts and Liabilities 
Description  Payable To         Date Due             Amount  Description                          Date Due     Amount 

 
 

   
$ 

    
$ 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
carried forward to item 13, page 1         TOTAL 

 
$ 

 
 

 
carried forward to item 14, page 1                TOTAL 

 
$ 

 
 



Attachment [B]    CONFIDENTIAL 

AUTHORITY TO OBTAIN INFORMATION FROM OUTSIDE SOURCES 
THIS FORM MUST BE SUBMITTED FOR EACH PERSON LISTED IN QUESTION # 16 

Name: 
 

Social Security #: 

Home Address:  
 
Date of Birth: 
 

Home Telephone No: 
 

Read the following questions carefully.  If the answer is “yes” to any of the questions, attach a full written explanation. Include 
names, dates, court name and address, case number, judgment amounts. 
Have you ever been convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or 
entered a plea of Nolo Contendere (no contest) to a felony, 
including any which may have been expunged, set aside, or 
for which you received a first offense pardon? 

(   ) Yes, attach explanation  (   ) No 

Have you ever been convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or 
entered a plea of Nolo Contendere (no contest) to any 
misdemeanor involving theft, fraud, or dishonesty , including 
any which may have been expunged, set aside, for which you 
received a first offense pardon? 

(   ) Yes, attach explanation  (   ) No 

Have you been refused a license or permit to do business 
under the provisions of a similar law or subject to any 
enforcement proceedings by any State or Federal government 
agency involving the revocation or suspension of any 
business license or permit, fines or penalties? 

(   )  Yes, attach explanation  (   ) No 

Have you been discharged for cause or been requested to 
resign from any employment position? 

(   )  Yes, attach explanation  (   ) No 

Have you been the subject of a bankruptcy, assignment for 
the benefit of creditors, receivership, conservatorship, or any 
similar proceeding? 

(   ) Yes, attach explanation  (   ) No 

Are there any civil proceedings pending against you or civil 
judgments entered against you which involve fraud or 
dishonesty?  
 

(   ) Yes, attach explanation  (   ) No 

Have any civil judgments been entered against you during the 
past 10 years? 

(   ) Yes, attach explanation   (   ) No 

I hereby authorize the licensing authority to make inquiries from any financial institution, credit bureau, current and former employers, law 
enforcement agency, and any other person or any agent acting on its behalf, any information they have, including without limitation my 
creditworthiness, character, ability, business activities, educational background, general reputation, history of my employment, and in the 
case of former employers, complete reasons for my termination for the purpose of determining my financial responsibility, character, and 
fitness in connection with any renewal or application for a license or registration.  I affirm that I have executed this form of my own free 
will and have read and understand the items and instructions; my answers (including attachments) are true and complete to the best of my 
knowledge.  I understand that I am subject to administrative, civil, or criminal penalties if I give false or misleading answers.  FALSE OR 
MATERIALLY INCOMPLETE ANSWERS ARE GROUNDS FOR DENIAL OR REVOCATION.  
I hereby certify that the information on this form is, to the best of my knowledge, complete and accurate. 
 

         
Signature     

 
SUBSCRIBED BEFORE ME ON THIS   day of       , 20   . 
 
 
AT:        ,        
   (CITY)      (STATE or COMMONWEALTH) 
 
PRINT NAME OF NOTARY PUBLIC: SIGNATURE OF NOTARY PUBLIC: 

 
 

 



 
 

Louisiana State Police 
Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information 

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 
           

 
**FORMS MUST BE FILLED OUT IN INK AND BE REVIEWED BY SUBMITTING AGENCY/INDIVIDUAL FOR ACCURACY** 

  

 ****FINGERPRINTS ARE NECESSARY FOR A POSITIVE IDENTIFICATION**** 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

****PLEASE PRINT**** 
 
Louisiana Office of Financial Institutions                   Michelle Jeansonne    
FACILITY OR AGENCY                         FACILITY OR AGENCY AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE  
 
P.O. Box 94095                
MAILING ADDRESS     SIGNATURE OF AUTHORIZED REPRESENTATIVE 
 
Baton Rouge,            Louisiana         70804      (225) 925-4660   ______  
CITY                      STATE                      ZIP CODE FACILITY OR AGENCY PHONE NUMBER 
 

Request For:  (pick one only) 
 

□ ADULT DAY CARE 
□ ADULT RESIDENTIAL 
□ ALCOHOL AND BEVERAGE COMMISSION 
□ ALCOHOL BEVERAGE OUTLET 
□ AMBULANCE SERVICE 
□ CASA 
□ CONCEALED HANDGUNS 
□ CRIMINAL JUSTICE EMPLOYEE 
□ DAYCARE 
□ DENTISTRY BOARD 
□ DEPARTMENT OF LABOR 
□ DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
□ EMPLOYERS 
□ FIREFIGHTERS 
□ GAMING 
□ HOME HEALTH AGENCY 
□ HOSPICE 
□ IMMIGRATION 
□ INTERMEDIATE CARE FACILITY FOR 

MENTALLY RETARDED 
□ JUVENILE DETENTION CENTER 
□ DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
□ MANUFACTURED HOUSING 

□ MEDICAL EXAMINERS 
□ NURSING HOME 
□ OCS FOSTER/ADOPTIVE 
□ OCS PERSONNEL 

OFFICE OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS 
□ OFFICE OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
□ PHARMACY BOARD 
□ POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION 
□ PRACTICAL NURSING 
□ PRIVATE ADOPTION 
□ PRIVATE INVESTIGATORS 
□ PRIVATE SECURITY 
□ PUBLIC HOUSING 
□ PUBLIC TAG AGENT 
□ REGISTERED NURSING 
□ RELIGIOUS ACTIVISTS 
□ RIVERBOAT PILOTS   
□ SCHOOL 
□ SENATE AND GOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS 
□ TAXI DRIVERS 
□ USED MOTOR VEHICLE COMMISSION 
□ VOLUNTEERS WORKING WITH CHILDREN 

 
APPLICANTS FULL NAME: ______________________________________________________ 
          ****PRINT – USE INK****    LAST        FIRST   MIDDLE     
              {INCLUDE MAIDEN NAME & PREVIOUS MARRIED NAMES IF APPLICABLE} 
 

APPLICANTS SIGNATURE: ______________________________________________________ 
 
APPLICANTS SOCIAL SECURITY #  _ _ _ - _ _ - _ _ _ _          DATE OF BIRTH: _ _ / _ _ / _ _ 
 
DRIVERS LICENSE #____________________&   STATE     ______    RACE ____     SEX ____ 
 
TYPE OF OFI LICENSE APPLIED FOR  ________________________ 
        

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCLOSE CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORDS INFORMATION 

By my signature above, I hereby authorize the Louisiana State Police to release all pertinent criminal record information maintained 
in their files, other states files, or the FBI files (if applicable ) which may confirm or deny my eligibility with the facility or agency 
named above. 

 



 
Attachment [C] 
 
NAME: ____________________________________________ 

 
COMPANY: ________________________________________ 

 
EMPLOYMENT/EXPERIENCE HISTORY FOR THE LAST 10 YEARS 

Each sole proprietor, officer, director, partner, member, manager and 10% or greater equity owner of applicant 
must fill out this form. You may submit your own resume' as long as it includes the information listed below.  
Include Month and Year. Include a complete 10 years.  Include explanation of any gaps in work history. 
 (Attach additional sheets, if necessary).  

Employer Name and Address Position/Brief 
Description of 
Duties 

Start 
Date 

End Date  
 

Reason for Leaving 

 
 
 
 

    

 
 
 
 

    

 
 
 
 

    

 
 
 
 

    

 
 
 
 

    

 
 
 
 

    

 
 
 
 

    

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



Attachment [D] 
 

NAME: ____________________________________________ 
 

COMPANY: ________________________________________ 
 

RESIDENTIAL ADDRESSES FOR THE LAST 10 YRS 
Each sole proprietor, officer, director, partner, member, manager and each 10% or greater 

equity owner of applicant must fill out this form. Include Month and Year.  Include a complete 10 years. 
Explain any gaps in residential history. (Attach additional sheets, if necessary) 

 
Residential Address Start Date End Date 

 
 
 

  

 
 
 

  

 
 
 

  

 
 
 

  

 
 
 

  

 
 
 

  

 
 
 

  

 
 
 

  

 
 
 

  

 
 
 

  

 

 



 
 
Attachment [E] (Complete and submit one form for each check cashing location)  

OFFICIAL GAMING ESTABLISHMENT STATEMENT 
 
 
               

Full legal name of Applicant 

 

 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Location address- including street, city, state, zip 

 

will not operate or be situated within 300 feet of any official gaming establishment or docking facility of a 

riverboat licensed to conduct gaming activities or gaming operations. 

 
        
 Signature of authorized representative 
 
 
 
        
 Print name and title 

 



Attachment [F] 
SCHEDULE OF ADDITIONAL LOCATIONS 

List all locations where check-cashing services will be performed 
(Attach additional sheets if needed) 

NOTE:  $50 for each additional location up to a maximum of $3,000. R.S. 6:1004.1(A).   
 

 
       
(Street Address) 
       
(City) 
       
(State)    (Zip Code) 
       
(Parish)    (Manager) 
 
Telephone: ( )    

 
       
(Street Address) 
       
(City) 
       
(State)    (Zip Code) 
       
(Parish)    (Manager) 
 
Telephone: ( )    

 
       
(Street Address) 
       
(City) 
       
(State)    (Zip Code) 
       
(Parish)    (Manager) 
 
Telephone: ( )    

 
       
(Street Address) 
       
(City) 
       
(State)    (Zip Code) 
       
(Parish)    (Manager) 
 
Telephone: ( )    

 
       
(Street Address) 
       
(City) 
       
(State)    (Zip Code) 
       
(Parish)    (Manager) 
 
Telephone: ( )    

 
       
(Street Address) 
       
(City) 
       
(State)    (Zip Code) 
       
(Parish)    (Manager) 
 
Telephone: ( )    

 
       
(Street Address) 
       
(City) 
       
(State)    (Zip Code) 
       
(Parish)    (Manager) 
 
Telephone: ( )    

 
       
(Street Address) 
       
(City) 
       
(State)    (Zip Code) 
       
(Parish)    (Manager) 
 
Telephone: ( )    

 

 



 
 

 
 

CERTIFICATE OF RESOLUTION 
 

Use this form to designate additional authorized individuals to act on behalf of the Applicant. 
 
Each person listed in the initial application as a director, manager, member, partner, sole proprietor, 
10% or greater equity owner and/or executive officer (CEO, CFO, COO, President, EVP, Secretary, 
Treasurer, or individuals of similar status or function) will be considered authorized to prepare, 
execute, verify, and present to the Office of Financial Institutions (“OFI”) a written application for 
licensure, registration, documents or subsequent changes in the licensee’s records with OFI.   
Therefore, anyone listed in the initial application is not required to file this form. 

 
 

This is to certify that at a meeting of the   Board of Directors/or   Members/ or   Partners of 
 
               
      Full legal name of applicant/company 
 
organized under the laws of the State/Commonwealth of        held at  
 
     ,      ,   ,    

Street address     City    State   Zip Code 
 
on the      day of      20 , the following resolution was  
 
duly and legally presented and adopted, to wit:  

 
It being the desire and purpose of          

       Full legal name of applicant/company 
     to be licensed or registered and maintain such license or registration, BE IT RESOLVED, that    
 
                    who is the         

Name of additional authorized representative                                      Title of additional authorized representative 
 

of this  limited liability company,  corporation,  limited partnership, or  general partnership is in  
 
his/her official capacity, hereby authorized and directed to prepare, execute, verify, and present to OFI all  
 
requisite papers and documents, including, but not limited to, applications, reports, and licensing forms or  
 
subsequent changes in the licensee’s records with OFI.   

 
         
AUTHORIZED SIGNATURE 
(If corporation, this form must be signed by the Secretary) 

 
 

         
Print Name 
 
TITLE :         

 
      DATE:        
         

 



 
LOUISIANA REVISED STATUTES 

 
TITLE 6  

 
BANKS AND BANKING 

 
CHAPTER 12. Currency Exchange Services 

 
(Current through 2016 Regular Legislative Session) 

 
§1001. Title 
 
   This Chapter shall be known and may be cited as “The Louisiana Check-Cashing Law”. 
 
§1002. Definitions 
 
   For the purposes of this Chapter: 
 
   (1)(a) “Check-casher” means an individual, partnership, unincorporated association, or corporation that, for 
compensation, engages, in whole or in part, in the business of cashing checks, drafts, money orders, or other 
commercial paper serving the same purpose.  
 
   (b)” Check-casher” does not mean either one of the following: 
 
   (i) An individual, partnership, unincorporated association, or corporation that charges no fee to the presenter or 
payor for the cashing of a check, draft, money order, or traveler's check. 
 
   (ii) An individual, partnership, unincorporated association, or corporation that cashes a check, draft, money 
order, or traveler’s check, or other commercial paper if the fee charged does not exceed two dollars and the 
currency exchange is incidental to the person’s primary business. 
 
   (2) “Commissioner” means the commissioner of financial institutions. 
 
   (3) “Currency exchange” means the cashing of checks, drafts, money orders, or traveler’s checks, or other 
commercial paper serving the same purpose by a check-casher. 
 
   (4) “Licensee” means a check-casher licensed by the commissioner to engage in business in accordance with this 
Chapter. 
 
§1003. License; certificates 
 
   Beginning January 1, 2000, a person engaging in currency exchange shall obtain a license from the 
commissioner. A person may engage in such business at more than one location with one license. The 
commissioner shall issue a certificate for each currency exchange location in addition to the license. 
 
§1004. Application for license and change of control 
 
   A. An application for a license under this Chapter shall be made under oath and on a form prescribed by the 
commissioner. 
 
   B. The application form shall provide space for and require disclosure of the following information: 

 



 
   (1)(a) If the applicant is an individual, the full name and address of the individual’s residence and principal place 
of business. 
 
   (b) If the applicant is a partnership or association, the full name and address of every member’s residence and of 
the principal place of business of the partnership or association. 
 
   (c) If the applicant is a corporation, the corporation’s full name and business address of the corporation’s 
principal place of business and the full name and residential address of each of the officers of the corporation. 
 
   (2) The name of the currency exchange operation. 
 
   (3) The street address of each currency exchange location operated by the applicant. 
 
   (4) The applicant’s occupations or professions for the ten years preceding the date of application. 
 
   (5) The applicant’s present and previous activities in currency exchange services in  
 
   (6) A criminal history disclosure on the applicant. 
 
   (7) The nature of business conducted at any location to be issued a certificate. 
 
   C. If the applicant is a partnership, association, or corporation, the information required by Paragraphs (4), (5), 
and (6) of Subsection B of this Section shall be supplied for each partner, officer, and director, as appropriate. 
 
   D. (1) No person shall acquire or control a license through the acquisition or control of more than fifty percent of 
the ownership interest in a licensee without first having obtained written approval from the commissioner, pursuant 
to an application for a change of control in ownership of the licensee, filed in the manner and on a form prescribed 
by the commissioner and accompanied by a fee of three hundred dollars.  Any person who acquires controlling 
interest in a licensee without first having filed an application for change of control with the commissioner shall be 
deemed to be operating without proper authority and subject to the penalties of this Part. 
 
   (2) For the purposes of this Section, a person acquires or controls the licensee when at least one of the following 
conditions exists: 
 
   (a) The person, directly or acting through one or more other persons, owns, controls, or has the power to vote 
more than fifty percent of any class of stock of the corporation. 
 
   (b) The person controls in any manner the election of a majority of the directors of the corporation. 
 
   (c) The commissioner determines, after notice and an opportunity for hearing, that the person directly or 
indirectly exercises a controlling influence over the management or the policies of the licensee. 
 
   (3) When the licensee is a limited liability company or a limited liability partnership, the licensee is acquired or 
controlled if one of the following occurs: 
 
   (a) There is a change of members or general partners. 
 
   (b) An existing member or general partner acquires or controls the licensee as provided in Paragraph (2) of this 
Subsection. 
 

 



   (c) The commissioner determines that there has been a significant change in the membership or partnership 
interests, including but not limited to a change in ownership or control, directly or indirectly affecting twenty-five 
percent or more of the total interest of the licensee. 
 
   (4) A corporation that is a licensee shall notify the commissioner within sixty days of a stockholder becoming a 
principal stockholder, which is defined for purposes of this Section as owning ten percent or greater of the 
outstanding stock of the corporation. 
 
   E. Any person required to be licensed pursuant to this Chapter shall, prior to application for licensure, be duly 
registered with the secretary of state and be in possession of a certificate of authority to transact business in this 
state pursuant to the provision of R.S. 9:3422, R.S. 12:304, or R.S. 12:1345, as applicable. 
 
§1004.1. License fees; online renewal 
 
   A. The applicant shall pay to the commissioner a nonrefundable application fee of three hundred fifty dollars 
with the initial application, plus an additional fee of fifty dollars for each currency exchange location in this state, 
not exceed three thousand dollars. 
 
   B. (1) The licensee shall pay an annual license renewal fee on or before the first day of December of each year 
for license to engage in currency exchange during the following calendar year of two hundred fifty dollars plus an 
additional fee of fifty dollars for each currency exchange location in this state, not to exceed three thousand 
dollars. 
 
   (2) If the commissioner has not received the annual renewal fee from a licensee by the sixteenth day of January, 
as determined by the postmarked date, he shall notify the licensee by United States mail and assess a late fee of 
one hundred dollars. 
 
   (3) If the commissioner has not received the annual renewal fee and late fee by March thirty-first, the license to 
engage in currency exchange and all certificates issued for currency exchange locations shall lapse without a 
hearing or notification, and the license and certificates shall not be reinstated.  However, the person whose license 
and certificates have lapsed may apply for a new license and certificates. 
 
   4)  After the date the licensing system provided for in Subsection C of this Section is available for use, any filing 
or notification required by the commissioner shall be made through the online-system.  Thereafter, the provisions 
of this Subsection shall expire and no longer have any effect. 
 
   C. (1) Beginning January 1, 2015, and thereafter, a licensee may submit through the Nationwide Mortgage 
Licensing System and Registry his renewal application on or before December thirty-first of each year in a manner 
and form prescribed by the commissioner. 
 
   (2) The renewal application shall be accompanied by a renewal fee of two hundred fifty dollars plus an additional 
fee of fifty dollars for each currency exchange location in this state, not to exceed three thousand dollars, payable 
on or before December thirty-first of each year.  A renewal application submitted through the Nationwide 
Licensing System and Registry after December thirty-first and before March first of the following year shall be 
charged a late fee of one hundred dollars.   
 
   (3) If the renewal application is submitted timely on or before December thirty-first, the license shall remain in 
force and effect until the renewal application is either approved or denied by the commissioner.  Nothing in this 
Paragraph shall preclude the commissioner from implementing any administrative or enforcement actions 
authorized by this Title for violations of this Chapter or for any material misrepresentation that may have occurred 
prior to the renewal date of a license. 
 

 



   (4)  If the commissioner has not received the renewal fee and late fee before March first, the license to engage in 
currency exchange shall lapse without hearing or notification, and the license shall not be reinstated.  However, the 
person whose license has lapsed may apply for a new license.  
 
§1004.2. Enforcement powers of the commissioner 
 
   A. The commissioner may, in his discretion, conduct such investigations as he deems necessary to ascertain 
possible violations of this Chapter or any rule, regulation, or order promulgated or issued in connection therewith.  
Any person who is engaged in or is engaging in or is about to engage in any act or practice which is prohibited by 
this Chapter or any rule, regulation, or order promulgated or issued in connection therewith, or any person who has 
failed to act or is failing to act or is about to fail to act under any affirmative duty imposed by this Chapter or any 
rule, regulation, or order promulgated or issued in connection therewith, shall be subject to appropriate action by 
the commissioner.  Such action shall include but shall not be limited to the issuance of orders to cease and desist or 
to assess civil money penalties, entering into compliance agreements, seeking injunctive relief from a court of 
competent jurisdiction, or any combination thereof. 
 
   B. The commissioner, in addition to or in place of suspension or revocation of a license, may fine up to five 
hundred dollars for each violation any person who violates any provision of this Chapter. 
 
   C. The commissioner may maintain a civil action in a court of competent jurisdiction to recover such fines, 
together with any costs and attorney fees incident to such action. 
 
§1005. Qualifications 
 
   The commissioner shall evaluate the financial responsibility, financial condition, business experience, and the 
character and general fitness of the applicant.  The commissioner may investigate and consider the qualifications of 
officers and directors of an applicant to determine whether this qualification has been met. 
 
§1006. Approval or denial of application 
 
   A. No later than the sixtieth day after the date a complete application has been received, the commissioner shall 
approve or deny the application and so notify the applicant. 
 
   B. (1) The commissioner shall issue a license to the applicant and a certificate for each currency exchange 
location if the application has been approved, the qualifications have been met, and the requisite fees have been 
paid. 
 
   (2) If the commissioner denies the application, the commissioner shall notify the applicant in writing of the 
reasons for denial. 
 
   (3) An applicant may appeal the decision of the commissioner pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act. 
 
   C. (1)  Any person whose application or renewal application for licensure under this Chapter has been denied for 
any reason may not reapply for a license under this Chapter until after at least three years from the date of the order 
of denial unless the commissioner, in his sole discretion, prescribes an earlier or later date. 
 
   (2) For purposes of this Subsection: 
 
   (a) The term “order” shall mean the date of the commissioner’s notification of denial of the person’s application. 
 
   (b) The term “person” shall include the applicant, its owners, and its members if the applicant is a limited 
liability company, its partners if the applicant is a partnership, its officers and directors if the applicant is a 

 



corporation, and any other person determined by the commissioner, in his sole discretion, to be closely related to 
the person. 
 
§1007. Change of name or location 
 
   A. In the event that a licensee wishes to change its name, trade name, or assumed name and such change is not 
due to a change  in ownership or legal entity, the licensee shall notify the commissioner in writing thirty days prior 
to such change and submit a fee of fifty dollars per certificate not to exceed three thousand dollars.  If the licensee 
fails to notify the commissioner or remit the required fee within the required thirty days, the commissioner may 
assess the licensee an amount not to exceed one hundred dollars as a penalty. 
 
   B. If a licensee adds a new location or changes the location of a currency exchange, the licensee shall notify the 
commissioner thirty days prior to such change and submit a fee of fifty dollars per certificate not to exceed three 
thousand dollars.  If a licensee fails to notify the commissioner or remit the required fee within the required thirty 
days, the commissioner may assess the licensee an amount not to exceed one hundred dollars as a penalty. 
 
   C. If the application is approved, the commissioner shall issue a certificate for the new location or locations. 
 
§1008. Suspension or revocation of license; hearing; surrender of license; administrative fines 
 
   A. The commissioner may suspend or revoke any license if the commissioner determines any one or more of the 
following has occurred: 
 
   (1) The licensee, or any officer or director of a corporate licensee, has violated any provision of this Chapter. 
 
   (2) The licensee or any officer or director of a corporate licensee has violated any provision of law which would 
indicate that the person is untrustworthy or is not qualified to operate a currency exchange, such as acts of fraud, 
misrepresentation, and other similar acts. 
 
   (3) The commissioner discovers facts that existed when the initial or renewal application for the license was 
made which would have warranted denial of the license. 
 
   (4) The licensee has failed to pay a fine assessed pursuant to this Chapter. 
 
   B. (1) A license shall not be suspended or revoked or a fine assessed until after a hearing. 
 
   (2) The commissioner shall give the licensee not less than twenty days from the mailing of written notice by 
certified mail, addressed to the principal place of business of the licensee, of the time and place of hearing. 
 
   (3) Any order of the commissioner suspending or revoking a license or assessing a fine shall state the grounds 
upon which the suspension, revocation, or fine is based and shall state an effective date for the suspension or 
revocation, or a date by which the fine shall be paid. 
 
   C. (1) A suspended or revoked license shall be surrendered by the licensee along with all location certificates to 
the commissioner in person or by first class mail within seven calendar days of the effective date of the suspension 
or revocation. 
 
   (2) The surrender shall not affect the licensee’s civil or criminal liability for acts committed before the surrender, 
nor shall the surrender affect the liability on the bond required by this Chapter. 
 
   (3) The licensee shall not be entitled to a refund of license fees paid. 
 

 



   D. Each transaction in violation of a provision or requirement of this Chapter shall constitute a separate violation. 
 
§1009. Regulation of fees; unreasonable fees; display of fees 
 
   A. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, no check-casher licensed or regulated under this 
Chapter shall directly or indirectly charge or collect fees or other consideration for rendering currency exchange 
services in excess of the following: 
 
   (1) Two percent of the total amount of the check presented for cashing or five dollars, whichever is greater, for 
checks issued by or drawn upon the account of a public welfare or public assistance agency of the United States, 
the state of Louisiana, or any political subdivision of the state. 
 
   (2) Ten percent of the total amount of the check presented for cashing or five dollars, whichever is greater, for all 
other checks or for money orders. 
 
   B. All fees charged by a licensee for rendering currency exchange services shall be prominently displayed on the 
premises of the currency exchange location in such manner as the commissioner requires. 
 
§1010. Repealed by Acts 2004, No. 370, § 1 
 
§1011. Powers; limitations; prohibitions 
 
   A licensee shall not accept money or currency for deposit or act as bailee or agent for any person to hold money 
or currency in escrow for others for any purpose.  However, a licensee may act as agent for a person licensed under 
the Sale of Checks and Money Transmission Act, Chapter 13 of this Title. 
 
§1012. Violations; criminal penalties; civil liability 
 
   A. A violation of any provision or requirement of this Chapter is a misdemeanor and shall be punishable by a 
fine of not less than two hundred and fifty dollars but not more than five hundred dollars, imprisonment for a term 
of not more than six months, or both.  Each transaction in violation of any provision or requirement of this Chapter 
shall constitute a separate offense. 
 
   B. The commissioner, through an administrative action or the district attorney of any judicial district, may 
maintain an action to enjoin violations of this Chapter. 
 
   C. Costs and reasonable attorney fees shall be awarded to the commissioner or a district attorney in all injunctive 
actions when the commissioner or district attorney successfully enforces this Chapter. 
 
§1013. Books of account; examinations 
 
   A. The licensee shall maintain sufficient books, accounts, and records that will enable the commissioner to 
determine if the licensee is complying with the provisions of this Chapter and with the rules adopted by the 
commissioner. 
 
   B. A licensee shall preserve the books, accounts, and records for at least two years after making the final entry. 
 
   C. (1) The commissioner, through his employees, may examine the records of a licensee at any time during 
normal business hours without prior notice. 
 
   (2) If the licensee’s records are located outside this state, the licensee, at the commissioner’s option, shall make 
them available to the commissioner at a location within this state convenient to the commissioner, or pay the 

 



reasonable and necessary expenses for the commissioner or his representatives to examine them at the place where 
they are maintained.  The commissioner may designate representatives, including comparable officials of the state 
in which the records are located, to inspect them on his behalf. 
 
§1013. 1 Cashing federal and state treasury checks; records retention 
 
   A. No licensee shall cash a United States Treasury tax refund check or state tax refund check in an amount of one 
thousand dollars or greater unless the person requesting that the check be cashed submits any one of the following: 
 
   (1) A valid current Louisiana driver’s license that contains a photograph of the person presenting the driver’s 
license. 
 
   (2) A valid current driver’s license of another state that contains a photograph and the date of birth of the person 
submitting the driver’s license 
 
   (3) A valid current special identification card issued by the state of Louisiana pursuant to R.S. 40:1321 
containing a photograph of the person submitting the identification card. 
 
   (4) A valid current passport or visa issued by the federal government or another country or nation, that contains a 
permanently attached photograph and the date of birth of the person submitting the passport or visa. 
 
   (5) A valid current military or federal identification card issued by the federal government containing a 
photograph and the date of birth of the person submitting the identification card. 
 
   B. (1) No form of identification required by Subsection A of this Section shall be accepted as proof of 
identification if it is expired, defaced, mutilated, or altered.  If the state identification card or lawful identification 
submitted is a duplicate, the person shall submit additional identification that contains the name, date of birth, and 
photograph of the person.  A duplicate driver’s license shall be considered lawful identification for the purposes of 
this Section, and a person shall not be required to submit additional information containing the name, date of birth, 
and picture of the person. 
 
   (2) An education institution identification card, check cashing identification card, or employee identification card 
shall not be considered as lawful identification for the purposes of this Section. 
 
   C. Each licensee shall maintain the following records and information for each United States Treasury tax refund 
check or state tax refund check in the amount of one thousand dollars or greater cashed by the licensee: 
 
   (1) The date on which the check is cashed. 
 
   (2) The number of the check and the face amount of the check. 
 
   (3) The name of the drawer of the check that is cashed. 
 
   (4) The name, home address, and the date of birth of the person for whom the check is cashed and a copy of the 
photo identification presented as required in this Section. 
 
   (5) A copy of the front and back of the check that is cashed. 
   
   D. Notwithstanding the provision of R.S. 6:1013(B), each licensee shall maintain the records and information 
required by the Section for at least three years from the date on which the check is cashed. 
 
§1014. Rules and regulations 
 

 



   The commissioner shall promulgate such rules and regulations as he deems necessary to administer and enforce 
this Chapter, pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act. 
 
§1015. False advertising 
 
   A. A licensee may not advertise, print, display, publish, distribute, or broadcast any statement or representation 
that is false, misleading, or deceptive or that omits material information.  
 
   B. A licensee shall post accurate information concerning the check-cashing fees or percentages charged in a 
prominent location on the premises. 
 
§1016. Applicability 
 
   This Chapter shall not apply to any bank, trust company, savings bank, savings and loan association, or credit 
union 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 



LOUISIANA REVISED STATUTES 
 

TITLE 6. 
 

 BANKS AND BANKING 
 

CHAPTER 4. Prohibited Practices; Sanctions 
 

(Current through 2016 Regular Legislative Session) 
 
§423. Check-cashing facility; location of business limited 
 
   A. No license shall be granted for the operation of a check-cashing facility which will be situated within three hundred 
feet or less of any official gaming establishment or designated docking facility of a riverboat licensed to conduct 
gaming activities or gaming operations pursuant to Chapter 4 or 5 of Title 27 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 
1950.  As to official gaming establishments, this distance shall be measured as a person walks using the sidewalk 
from the nearest point of the property line of the official gaming establishment to the nearest point of the facility.  
As to docking facilities, this distance shall be measured in a straight line from the nearest point of the docking 
facility to the nearest point of the check-cashing facility. 
 
   B. The subsequent construction, erection, development, or movement of an official gaming establishment or 
designated docking facility which causes a check-cashing facility to be located within the prohibited distance shall 
not be cause for revocation, withholding, denial, or nonrenewal of a license. 
 
   C. For purposes of this Section, “check-cashing facility” means a facility whose primary business is the cashing 
of checks, drafts, money orders, or travelers checks for a fee.  The term does not include a bank, trust company, 
savings bank, savings and loan association, or credit union. 
 
   D. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to an individual, partnership, unincorporated association, or 
corporation that charges no fee to the presenter or payor for the cashing of a check, draft, money order, or 
traveler’s check. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Notice 
Please note that the excerpted version of this statute contained herein is unofficial and should not be relied on when making legal 
determinations affecting a person’s rights or obligations without first consulting with competent legal counsel.  A complete, but 

unofficial, copy of the entire Louisiana Revised Statues is available through the State of Louisiana on the Louisiana Legislature’s 
website located at www.legis.louisiana.gov. 

 

 

http://www.legis.louisiana.gov/


MINIMUM CHECK CASHER ANTI-MONEY  
LAUNDERING (AML) PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS 

 
The anti-money laundering compliance program must be in writing and must be reasonably designed to prevent the 
check casher from being used to facilitate money laundering and the financing of terrorism.  At a minimum, the 
program must contain the following (4) items: 
 

1. Incorporate policies, procedures and internal controls reasonably designed to assure  
Compliance with the Bank Secrecy Act (BSA) including: 

 
• Verifying customer identification 
• Filing reports 
• Detecting suspicious activity 
• Creating and retaining records; and 
• Responding to law enforcement requests 

 
(Examples of the abovementioned policies and procedures may include dictating the limits that will be 
cashed, what types of verification will take place based on certain thresholds, and what documentation 
is required to cash the check based on the amount.  In addition, is approval needed to cash a check 
over a certain size, how are customers identified, for what time period does the company retain 
records, how are requests from law enforcement handled, what procedures are maintained for filing 
currency transaction reports(CTR’s)?, etc.) 

 
2. Designate a compliance officer to assure day-to-day compliance with the program.  The responsibilities 

of such person include assuring that: 
 

• The business properly files reports and creates and retain records; 
• The compliance program is updated as necessary to reflect current requirements and related 

guidance issued by the Department of Treasury; and  
• The business provides appropriate training and education.  

 
(Your compliance officer should have knowledge of record keeping and reporting requirements, 
training procedures and an overall knowledge of BSA.) 

 
3. Provide for ongoing training or appropriate personnel concerning their responsibilities under the 

program, including training in the detection of suspicious transactions. 
 
(The check casher must ensure that appropriate personnel are trained in applicable aspects of the BSA. 
Training should include regulatory requirements and the check casher’s BSA/AML policies and 
procedures. The check casher should also document the training of all employees.  At a minimum, the 
training program must provide training for all personnel whose duties require knowledge of the BSA. 
The training should be tailored to the person’s specific responsibilities. In addition, an overview of the 
BSA/AML requirements should be given to new staff members.).   

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 



 
 
4. Provide for an independent review to monitor and maintain an adequate program. 

 
• The scope and frequency of the review should be commensurate with the risk of the financial 

services provided by the check casher.  Such review may be conducted by an officer or 
employee of the check casher so long as the reviewer is not the person designated as the 
compliance officer.   

 
     (At a minimum, independent testing should include:  
 

-An evaluation of the overall effectiveness of the BSA/AML compliance program, including policies 
and procedures.  
-A review of the risk assessment for reasonableness given the risk profile of the check casher 
(products, services, customers, and geographic locations).  
-Appropriate transaction testing to verify adherence to the BSA recordkeeping and reporting 
requirements (e.g., CTRs and information sharing requests).  
-An evaluation of management’s efforts to resolve violations and deficiencies noted in previous 
audits and regulatory examinations, including progress in addressing outstanding supervisory 
actions if applicable.   
-A review of staff training for adequacy, accuracy, and completeness. 
-Documentation of when the review was performed and the details of the review) 
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